VA Camp Lejeune Claims: Service and Covered Conditions

VA Camp Lejeune claims can provide disability compensation when qualifying military service and a covered diagnosis meet VA’s requirements. The central rule covers at least 30 cumulative days at Camp Lejeune or MCAS New River between August 1, 1953, and December 31, 1987.

A presumption can simplify proof of the connection between your illness and service, but qualifying service still needs documentation. Disability compensation, family-member medical assistance, and Camp Lejeune Justice Act claims also have different requirements.

Start by matching your service dates and diagnosis to the correct benefit program.

Key Takeaways

  • Qualifying service generally requires at least 30 total days at Camp Lejeune or MCAS New River during the covered period.
  • VA recognizes eight presumptive diseases, including certain cancers and Parkinson’s disease.
  • The presumption simplifies proof of service connection, but medical and service records remain necessary.
  • Family-member assistance and Camp Lejeune Justice Act claims are separate from veterans’ disability compensation.

An illness outside the presumptive list doesn’t automatically rule out benefits. However, a direct service-connection claim requires evidence supporting the relationship between the disability and military service.

Who Qualifies for VA Camp Lejeune Claims?

The 30-day rule and qualifying dates

The covered period begins August 1, 1953, and ends December 31, 1987. Your qualifying service must total at least 30 days within that window.

Those days don’t need to be consecutive. Separate qualifying assignments can count toward the cumulative requirement, so records from each assignment may matter.

VA’s Camp Lejeune eligibility requirements identify the covered dates, locations, and service categories. A general statement that you served in North Carolina doesn’t establish the required time at a covered installation.

Covered installations and military status

The rule covers Camp Lejeune and Marine Corps Air Station (MCAS) New River in North Carolina. Eligible service categories include active-duty personnel, Reservists, and National Guard members.

Discharge status also matters. VA’s stated requirements include discharge under conditions other than dishonorable.

For a Florida veteran, current residence doesn’t determine whether the historical service qualifies. The important records establish where you served, when you were there, and whether the total meets the rule.

Military assignment and family residence are different eligibility questions. A spouse or child who lived on base doesn’t qualify for veteran disability compensation solely through that residence.

Which Diseases Are Presumptive?

VA’s eight covered conditions

VA recognizes these eight diseases for the Camp Lejeune disability presumption:

  • Adult leukemia.
  • Aplastic anemia and other myelodysplastic syndromes.
  • Bladder cancer.
  • Kidney cancer.
  • Liver cancer.
  • Multiple myeloma.
  • Non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma.
  • Parkinson’s disease.

These are defined medical diagnoses. A symptom such as tremor, fatigue, or blood in the urine doesn’t establish a listed condition by itself.

VA’s presumptive service-connection rule identifies the covered diseases and the cumulative service requirement. Your claim should use the diagnosis supported by your treating clinician’s records.

What the presumption establishes

A presumption simplifies the connection between a covered disease and qualifying military service. When the requirements apply, you generally don’t need a separate medical opinion proving that contaminated water caused your individual illness.

However, the presumption doesn’t establish every part of the claim. VA still needs evidence of qualifying service and the diagnosed disability.

It also doesn’t set the compensation amount. VA separately evaluates the disability and its effects under the applicable rating rules.

A presumptive diagnosis can resolve the service-connection question while leaving the disability rating and effective date disputed.

Keep records showing treatment, current symptoms, and lasting limitations. Those records remain important even when the relationship to service is presumed.

Evidence That Supports a Camp Lejeune Claim

Service records establish the covered assignment

A DD-214 can establish military service without identifying every duty station or temporary assignment. Personnel records, orders, performance reports, and service treatment records may supply missing location details.

Organize the evidence around dates at Camp Lejeune or MCAS New River. If there were multiple assignments, identify each period rather than relying on an unexplained total.

Credible statements from you or fellow service members may help explain gaps. Describe observed facts, including the unit, assignment, location, and approximate dates. A statement about service circumstances cannot replace a medical diagnosis.

Medical records establish the disease and its effects

Submit records that identify the actual diagnosis. Pathology reports, oncology notes, specialist evaluations, and treatment summaries can provide stronger support than an unexplained problem-list entry.

For bladder cancer, cystoscopy findings, surgical reports, and urology records may document both the disease and treatment. Our discussion of VA bladder cancer claims addresses these evidence issues alongside other exposure pathways.

Follow-up records matter after treatment ends. They can document recurrence, persistent symptoms, or residual disability that affects the evaluation.

Keep service evidence and medical evidence organized separately. They answer different questions, and both belong in a focused claim.

When the Camp Lejeune Presumption Doesn’t Apply

An unlisted diagnosis doesn’t automatically end the benefits inquiry. Veterans may pursue direct service connection when evidence supports a relationship between the disability and military service.

That route generally requires a current disability, an in-service disease, event, or exposure, and evidence connecting them. A medical opinion may be important when the relationship isn’t clear from the existing record.

A useful opinion addresses your actual exposure history, diagnosis, and medical findings. A general statement that contaminated water can cause illness may leave the individual connection unanswered.

Other exposure rules may also apply when the service record supports them. Kidney cancer, for example, may qualify through a separate PACT Act pathway for certain deployments. Our VA renal cancer claims guide explains that distinct route.

However, exposure rules aren’t interchangeable. Camp Lejeune, herbicide, and airborne-hazard claims have different covered locations, dates, and diagnoses. Evidence supporting one pathway doesn’t automatically establish another.

The same principle applies when your Camp Lejeune service falls outside the presumptive dates or duration. The available evidence must support whichever service-connection theory you pursue.

VA Compensation, Health Care, and Justice Act Claims Differ

Veterans’ benefits and family-member assistance

VA disability compensation is a benefit for eligible veterans. Family members don’t receive that compensation simply because they lived at Camp Lejeune.

Veterans may also qualify for health care under separate rules. VA’s Camp Lejeune public health guidance explains the treatment-related program.

Eligible family members may apply to the Camp Lejeune Family Member Program for assistance with qualifying medical costs. That program isn’t a veteran disability award.

Receiving treatment also doesn’t establish compensation approval. A compensation claim requires a separate benefits decision addressing entitlement.

The Camp Lejeune Justice Act process

The Camp Lejeune Justice Act (CLJA) created a separate civil-claim process. Administrative claims went to the Department of the Navy, rather than through VA’s disability compensation system.

According to the Department of Justice’s Camp Lejeune Justice Act guidance, the administrative-claim filing deadline was August 10, 2024.

That deadline doesn’t close the VA disability compensation process. A veteran’s eligibility for VA benefits remains a separate question.

CLJA litigation involves the U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of North Carolina. An existing administrative claim or lawsuit requires attention to its own procedural history, rather than assumptions based on VA correspondence.

A VA application doesn’t substitute for a Navy administrative claim, and a CLJA claim doesn’t substitute for a VA compensation application.

Filing a Claim and Responding to an Unfavorable Decision

Present the diagnosis and service history clearly

Name each diagnosed disability and identify the Camp Lejeune or MCAS New River service supporting it. Include assignment dates and explain how the records establish the cumulative service period.

Provide relevant private medical records as well as VA treatment information. Don’t assume that every outside specialist’s report is already in VA’s file.

Keep copies of submissions, receipt confirmations, and decision letters. Earlier filings may matter when VA determines the effective date.

If VA schedules an examination, attend and describe your symptoms accurately. Explain treatment, lasting limitations, and effects on daily activities without exaggeration.

Match the response to the disputed finding

Read the decision’s reasons and favorable findings before selecting a review option. A dispute about service dates needs different evidence than a dispute about disability severity.

A Supplemental Claim may fit when new and relevant evidence addresses the missing issue. Higher-Level Review generally examines the existing record without new evidence. A Board Appeal places the dispute before the Board of Veterans’ Appeals.

The procedural choice matters because review options have different evidence rules and deadlines. Our attorneys can assess whether the decision overlooked service records, misunderstood the diagnosis, or assigned an incomplete evaluation.

Approval of service connection doesn’t prevent a separate dispute over the rating or effective date.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I qualify if the diagnosis appeared decades after service?

Yes. A long interval after discharge doesn’t, by itself, defeat a presumptive claim. VA still evaluates the diagnosis, qualifying service, and other applicable requirements.

Parkinson’s disease can raise these questions long after military service. Our Agent Orange Parkinson’s claims guide addresses another exposure pathway with its own service requirements.

Must I have served overseas?

No. The Camp Lejeune presumption concerns qualifying service at the covered North Carolina installations. Overseas deployment isn’t a requirement for this particular rule.

Your records must still establish the covered location, dates, and cumulative duration.

Does a prior denial mean I cannot pursue benefits?

A prior denial doesn’t automatically prevent further review. The appropriate route depends on the decision, claim history, available evidence, and applicable deadlines.

New service records or medical evidence may address a missing element. However, filing another initial application isn’t always the correct response to a previously denied issue.

Build the Claim Around Qualifying Service and Diagnosis

The strongest starting point is a documented diagnosis paired with records establishing covered service. A presumptive rule simplifies proof of the connection, but it doesn’t replace evidence or determine every part of the award.

Keep VA compensation separate from family-member assistance and CLJA proceedings. Each process addresses a different benefit or remedy.

For Florida veterans facing a denial, rating dispute, or effective-date issue, our attorneys offer free consultations to discuss the claim and available review options.