VA Chloracne Claims: Diagnosis and the One-Year Rule
VA chloracne claims can qualify for presumptive service connection when the condition became at least 10% disabling within one year after the veteran’s last qualifying herbicide exposure. A diagnosis alone doesn’t establish that timing requirement.
For veterans diagnosed decades after service, the central question is often whether earlier symptoms establish when the disease began and how severe it was. Medical records, photographs, and detailed statements can help address that history. Start by separating the diagnosis, exposure evidence, and one-year manifestation rule.
Key Takeaways for Veterans and Families
- Chloracne, or another acneform disease consistent with chloracne, has a condition-specific timing requirement under VA’s herbicide presumption.
- The one-year period runs from the last qualifying herbicide exposure during active service, not automatically from discharge.
- A later diagnosis doesn’t necessarily establish late onset, but evidence must support qualifying manifestations during the required period.
- Missing the presumptive requirements doesn’t eliminate every possible service-connection theory.
- Service connection, the disability rating, and the effective date are separate questions.
How VA Chloracne Claims Meet the Presumptive Rule
Presumptive service connection allows VA to accept the relationship between a covered condition and qualifying herbicide exposure. When all requirements apply, veterans generally don’t need a separate medical opinion proving that Agent Orange caused their individual disease.
However, chloracne has an additional timing requirement that many other Agent Orange conditions don’t share.
The clock starts after the last qualifying exposure
Under VA’s Agent Orange compensation rules, chloracne must become at least 10% disabling within one year after the last qualifying herbicide exposure during active service.
The relevant date isn’t necessarily your separation date. Your service history must identify the exposure period before the medical timeline can answer whether symptoms appeared soon enough.
Also, this is a manifestation requirement, not a requirement to file a compensation application within that year. Filing decades later raises evidence questions, but the filing date doesn’t establish when the disease began.
Symptoms must meet the required severity level
Showing that you had some acne during the first year doesn’t automatically satisfy the presumption. The evidence must support manifestations consistent with at least a 10% disability evaluation during that period.
VA evaluates chloracne under Diagnostic Code 7829. Deep inflamed nodules and pus-filled cysts matter when documenting severity; a general reference to pimples or oily skin provides less information.
A diagnosis recorded today answers what the condition is. It doesn’t, by itself, establish how severe the condition was during the year after exposure.
Diagnosing Chloracne After Agent Orange Exposure
Chloracne can resemble ordinary acne, particularly in mild cases. A dermatologist’s assessment can help distinguish the conditions and explain whether the findings fit chloracne or another acneform disease consistent with it.
Why an unexplained acne label isn’t enough
VA describes chloracne as an uncommon eruption involving blackheads, cysts, and nodules. Its health guidance also describes excessive oiliness and, in severe cases, open sores and permanent scars.
A chart entry that says only “acne” may leave the diagnosis unresolved. Treatment notes should describe the lesions, affected areas, clinical history, and reasons for the clinician’s diagnosis.
A veteran’s description of symptoms is useful, but it doesn’t replace medical judgment about the disease. Similarly, exposure to Agent Orange doesn’t turn every later skin disorder into chloracne. The records need to identify the actual condition.
Scars and lasting effects also matter
Active lesions aren’t the only relevant findings. Scarring or disfigurement may remain after an earlier eruption improves.
Records should describe the location and appearance of scars, along with pain, instability, or other documented effects. Depending on the predominant disability, applicable scar or disfigurement criteria may affect the evaluation.
Still, scars alone don’t establish that chloracne caused them. A medical explanation connecting the current findings to the earlier skin disease can resolve that issue. An old diagnosis also doesn’t automatically establish a current compensable disability.
Proving Qualifying Herbicide Exposure
The presumption begins with evidence showing where, when, and under what circumstances you served. VA recognizes several herbicide-exposure categories, each with its own requirements.
Qualifying Republic of Vietnam service generally falls between January 9, 1962, and May 7, 1975. Certain offshore service also qualifies under the applicable Blue Water Navy rules. These are examples, not the only recognized exposure categories.
VA’s presumptive service-connection summary identifies covered conditions and exposure pathways. Eligibility under another toxic-exposure program doesn’t automatically establish qualifying Agent Orange exposure.
A DD-214 may establish part of your history without resolving every location question. Personnel records, orders, travel documents, and unit records can fill those gaps. For shipboard service, deck logs and ship histories may establish where the vessel operated during your assignment.
When VA accepts qualifying service under the exposure presumption, you generally don’t need to identify a particular spraying operation. However, the service evidence doesn’t replace medical proof of chloracne or its timely manifestations.
Keep the exposure timeline separate from the symptom timeline. They answer different questions, and both are necessary to evaluate the presumptive route.
Building Evidence of Onset and Severity
Older chloracne claims often turn on records created long before anyone considered a disability application. The strongest evidence identifies observable symptoms and places them within a reliable timeline.
Contemporaneous records and photographs
Service treatment records, separation examinations, early civilian medical records, and pharmacy records may document skin complaints near the exposure period. Dated photographs can also show visible lesions or scarring.
Preserve the original context of each item. A photograph is more useful when its date and source are known. Likewise, a treatment note describing cysts provides more detail than an unexplained billing entry for acne.
If early records use a different diagnostic label, a clinician may be able to explain whether the documented findings were consistent with chloracne. That explanation should address the actual records rather than assume every historical rash had the same cause.
Statements and retrospective medical opinions
Veterans and witnesses can describe what they observed: draining lesions, recurring cysts, affected areas, and treatment. Useful statements explain when the observations occurred and how the writer remembers that period.
Avoid estimating a disability percentage in a personal statement. Describe the symptoms instead, so VA can apply its rating criteria.
A retrospective medical opinion may help interpret earlier records and observations. It should explain whether the evidence supports chloracne and the required severity within the one-year period.
For current findings, a physician-completed Disability Benefits Questionnaire may help document the condition. VA may also schedule a compensation examination. A privately completed questionnaire isn’t mandatory in every claim.
When the One-Year Presumption Doesn’t Apply
Direct service connection remains a separate possibility when presumptive requirements aren’t met. That route generally requires evidence of a current disability, an in-service event or exposure, and a medical connection between them.
The medical explanation matters. A statement that herbicides can cause skin disease may not establish why a particular veteran’s condition is connected to service. An opinion should address the diagnosis, exposure history, symptom chronology, and relevant medical findings.
A reported onset many years after exposure presents a different issue from a delayed diagnosis of symptoms that began earlier. Those histories shouldn’t be treated as interchangeable.
If VA has already denied the claim, identify the disputed finding before responding. A denial based on missing exposure evidence calls for a different response than one based on diagnosis or manifestation timing.
Also distinguish a service-connection denial from disagreement over the rating. Evidence showing severe symptoms today may support a rating argument without resolving whether the presumptive one-year rule was met.
Preserve earlier applications, decision letters, medical submissions, and filing receipts. Those records can help an attorney identify what VA decided and which evidence addresses the unresolved issue.
Frequently Asked Questions About VA Chloracne Claims
Must chloracne have been formally diagnosed within one year?
The rule concerns when the condition manifested to the required degree, rather than simply when a clinician first recorded its name.
A later diagnosis may help interpret earlier symptoms. However, the evidence still must support manifestations consistent with at least a 10% evaluation within one year after the last qualifying exposure.
Does another Agent Orange award establish chloracne eligibility?
An existing award for a condition such as Agent Orange-related Type 2 diabetes may already reflect VA’s acceptance of qualifying exposure.
It doesn’t establish a chloracne diagnosis or satisfy chloracne’s separate timing requirement. Each claimed disability needs evidence meeting its own requirements, even when the same military records support exposure.
Does an Agent Orange Registry exam count as a compensation claim?
An Agent Orange Registry health exam is a health evaluation, not an application for disability compensation.
Its findings may provide useful medical evidence, but participation doesn’t create a compensation award. Health care, exposure evaluations, and disability compensation involve separate determinations. Treatment also shouldn’t wait for a benefits decision.
Build the Claim Around Diagnosis and Timing
Strong VA chloracne claims connect a supported diagnosis with qualifying exposure and evidence of timely, sufficiently severe manifestations. When the presumption doesn’t apply, direct service connection requires its own evidentiary analysis.
A later diagnosis deserves careful review of the earlier medical history. The date on today’s chart may not tell the whole story.
At Avard Law Offices, we offer free case evaluations for Florida veterans seeking help with veterans’ benefits disputes. We can review whether a disputed decision turns on exposure, diagnosis, timing, or the disability rating.

